Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing the location of the search window

Hi.
    I am not a skiled programmer but I want to change the location of the window where the search page is opened and results presented from a "new window" to the mid area (ContentPlaceHolderID="MainContent") of my asp website: http://www.relatie-voeding-gedrag.nl/ (in Dutch but with Google translation button).

Is this an easy config setting, or does it need asp programming effort? (If needed, I can get some help from an asp programmer who setup the site, but I prefer to do it myself and learn)
    Can someone give me a hint? Thanks in advance

Veng
    Last edited by Veng; Jan-31-2014, 11:51 AM.

There are a few things you can do.

First of all, you are currently linking to your search page with this:

Code:
    <a href="[URL="http://www.relatie-voeding-gedrag.nl/Index/search.asp"]/Index/search.asp[/URL]" style="font-weight: bold" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" [FONT=monospace]title[/FONT][COLOR=#000000][FONT=monospace]="[/FONT][/COLOR][FONT=monospace]Zoeken op [/FONT]deze site.">Site doorzoeken</a>
    The target="_blank" part is what makes the search page open in a "new window". If you remove this, the page will open in the same window.

Next, please note that the rest of your site uses .aspx pages. These are "ASP.NET" pages, and not the same as .asp pages (what was known as "ASP" but now referred to as "Classic ASP" for clarity). ASP is not the same as ASP.NET. Classic ASP is alot easier to use than ASP.NET.

You have these options:

(a) Simply modify the "search_template.html" to match the appearance and layout of your site. So you can copy the HTML for the header, footer, menus, etc. And have a plain which looks much like the rest of your site. Place the tag <!--ZOOMSEARCH--> where you want your results to appear (within the "MainContent" div in your case).