Linux Installation Instruction vague for a newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linux Installation Instruction vague for a newbie

First, I'm not a programmer or IT guy. The shell script (install.sh), I assume, can only be run from UNIX providing you have access to the server. I'm using a shared server, so I cannot run this script to set permissions. It would be nice if there were another script, from PHP that could be run that would do the same thing through the browser. Setting permission levels is unclear to me. Do you mean 777,775 or 644?

The section (manual) that says "install some system plugins (if required) sounds, again, as if the user had access to UNIX commands, which I don't. So how do I install "libimage-exiftool-perl" if I'm in a shared server world and I want to search images?

I always get confused (easy to do, I'm a black and white guy when it comes to reading instructions) when I see "eg /var/www/zoom/zoomindexer" Does this path mean "http://domain.com/zoom/zoomindexer" or does it mean /www.domain.com/zoom/zoomindexer"? Writers should show examples for us dummy's because it's unclear trying to interpret what the author is indicating. If I wrote code all the time it would be simple.

The image indexing plugin (exiftool) is now included in the latest download so we'll be updating the installation instructions to reflect this.

The current permissions changes done by the install.sh script are blanket coverage to ensure the files can be read by the indexer executable when it is launched and the web server so they are not particular secure but will work in more situations. The numeric equivalents of the changes made in install.sh would be;
    a+r = 444
    a+rx = 555
    a+rw = 666
    a+rwx = 777

The paths in the config files are absolute paths on the file system, the indexer runs as an executable so http paths will have no meaning to it.